Posted by: KStrate | September 16, 2007

Pizza for Dawggies

There’s nothing mellow about the mushroom.

One of the most exciting things I learned when returning to school this year was the new Mellow Mushroom had opened! I had been dying to try their pizza, complete with the new venue, and I finally got to try it.

After the South Carolina game, me, my Dad, and a few of my friends went for some pizza and drinks. We ordered a Kosmic Karma, a pie with spinach, feta, tomatoes, and pesto, and the House Special, a concoction of mellowy goodness – just like supreme pizza at other restaurants. Despite the fact that the game had just been let out, service was pretty good. I think our new waitress was a little overwhelmed.

The pizza took forever to come, but it was worth the wait. The whole atmosphere in the Shroom is awesome. The murals, the high ceilings, the huge windows and the incomparable smell of oven-baked pizza would make any sour day turn sweet.

We actually went back last night for a private party, and I was impressed again! This time, we ordered an appetizer of hummus and pita- YUM! The pita bread was toasty, and the hummus, although plain, was sprinkled with paprika. We had a table of about ten, and we ordered the Hawaiian pizza. Holy crap. Talk about awesome. The ham wasn’t diced like Kroger’s, but it was shredded- almost like prosciutto.

We invited a band to come to the event, and Mellow definitely adapted. There was a reasonably-sized dance floor available, and they were great at getting people their food and making sure they had a good time.

The bathrooms were clean, too! I didn’t go in the men’s but there were some really cool sinks in the women’s- like a water spicket! The staff was really friendly, and I could see the manager making his rounds talking to the customers.

I am definitely going back for something. Next time, I think I’ll try to see if we can get a thin crust on the pizza. We asked the waitress last night, but she said they couldn’t do it because the pizzas are hand-tossed. I don’t know how much I believe that. What do you think? Is it true or false?

If you’re looking for a good place to go on a first date, this could be really good! The food is good. The atmosphere is casual, and it’s not so quiet that you feel really awkward having a one-on-one conversation. OR, if you want to go with a big group somewhere, the Mellow Shroom will be there to accomodate.

Ok, Dawgs. Eat some pizza, and tell me what you think.

Responses

  1. I am glad to see that you enjoy the Mellow Mushroom. I enjoy it so much that I am opening one in Columbus Ohio. It should be opened in mid to late December. So if you are ever up this way, stop in for some great beer and pizza.

    As far as the thin crust goes. You can ask them to make the crust that way. Even though it is hand tossed they can toss it a little more to make it a thin crust style pizza.

  2. Oh yeah, Go Buckeyes!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

