Posted by: KStrate | September 27, 2007

There’s a Gorilla…in the restaurant.

For those of you who are not familiar with Larry’s Giant Subs, their mascot is a gorilla. I think it may have something to do with the giant, Godzilla, eat-my-big-sub feel, but I was nonetheless surprised when I walked into the restaurant for the first time.

Larry’s is located in the Beechwood Shopping Area- to the left of Chick-Fil-A. If anyone is from Athens, I’ve been told it replaced the Blimpie.

In case you couldn’t guess what they serve, submarine sandwiches are their specialty. And man are they good! Warm or cold, long or short, white or wheat, with or without mayo, each bite should be savored.

I have been there a couple of times, and each time I ordered the Turkey Breast sub. I’m a sucker for a good, warm turkey sandwich. It’s my guilty pleasure. All of the topping ingredients seemed to be fresh, and they also have spicy mustard to squirt on if that’s your thing.

I have friends who have ordered the Pizza Sub, the Big BLT, and the Kong’s Club- all with superior ratings.

I am also a chip connoisseur. The eater will be delighted to find an assortment of regular and baked chips including Barbecue and Sour Cream and Onion Baked Lays, Lays Light Potato Chips, Doritos, Fritos, and pretzels.

When I was looking around on their website, I also found a chart with nutritional information. For all you Weight Watchers followers, the Giant Delight is only 7 points- without the cheese, of course. It’s an 8-inch sub, too! Even Subway can’t get away with that.

So, if you want a good, filling, different place to go for lunch, hit up Larry’s. While you’re at it, take a picture of you with the Gorilla, and post it to the blog. I’m going to do it the next time I go!

Leave a Reply

Categories

