Posted by: KStrate | November 3, 2007

Oh Mia! Casa is AWESOME.

I think this weekend will make up for my lack of restaurant visiting. Boy, do I have some great things to share!

This Friday night, I visited Casa Mia with six other people. Here are the basic things for you to know:

  • Location: On the corner of Hull and Clayton Streets downtown
  • Phone number: 706-227-4444
  • Web site: http://casamiatapas.com, but it’s under construction.
  • Reservations: You can make them, but, from what I can tell, they don’t get busy until 8 p.m. or so.
  • Price: Holy-moly…so reasonable! We’ll get to that later.
  • Best meal: Dinner
  • Open and Close: 7 days a week, Lunch 11:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m., Dinner 5 p.m.-whenever, Sunday brunch 11:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
  • Group friendly: Definitely. If you bring friends, they’ll do the rest.

Before I begin my outstanding review, let me “learn you” a little something. Casa Mia is a tapas restaurant. Tapas are small portions of Spanish food. Like hors d’oeuvres for the French and antipasto for the Italians, Tapas are to be served with a drink, too. Eating at a tapas restaurant is fun because you have the chance to try so many different foods. What a great way to experience the Latin flavor of Casa Mia!

Now, let me start:

First, the restaurant. The owners have decorated it appropriately and subtly. It is dimly lit, at night that is, and there is a warm, orange glow inside. Cool, chandelier lights hang at the bar, so you can’t help but feel relaxed when you walk in.

The hostesses and wait staff were extremely hospitable. I made reservations for my Dad and me, but we ended up adding five other friends at the last minute. They were ready to accomodate our needs, and we were seated immediately.

Our waitress was spunky, and she knew about the menu. I hate going into a foreign restaurant, and your waiter doesn’t know what the food is or how to explain it. She knew the lingo, and she also knew how it was prepared. Way to go!

Next, we will talk price. Totally reasonable. My Dad and I ordered the menu choice of seven tapas with a half-bottle of wine or their famous Sangria for only $44, and it didn’t specify how many people had to split it. If a group of girls goes, four people could easily split that for just over $10 per person!

Individually, the tapas cost anywhere from $4.95 to $6.95. You’re probably wondering how many a single portion, and I would suggest this: two for girls with an average appetite, three for any person with a good appetite and four or more for a growin’ boy.

At our table, people had ordered spinach and cheese empanadas, chicken tostones, steak pinchos, ceviche, garlic shrimp, veggie tostada, queso dulce (cream cheese topped with red pepper and a sweet sauce), fried yuca and steak Patagonia.

Since we ordered so many things, I’m going to pick out my favorites.

  1. Fried Yuca: So good. It tasted almost like French fries. The yuca had been cut into 2-3 inch pieces, and it was about one inch thick. When I bit into it, it was extremely fluffy, but it was crispy, too! It came with a great dipping sauce.
  2. Veggie Tostada: The vegetables came in a small, fried corn shell- about as big as my hand. They were topped, not covered, in cheese, but the dish came with a nice green sauce. I’m not sure what the base of the sauce was.
  3. Chicken Tostones: OK, fried green plantains sounds weird, I know. They are definitely worth the try, though. The plantains are sand-dollar sized, and the shredded chicken and cheese on top gives it just the flavor it needs. Try it, and then go tell your Mom you stepped out of the box.

Dessert, as always, was the last thing we ate. We ordered two pieces of cake: tiramasu cake and a chocolate brandy one. The tiramasu cake was amazing, spongy, espresso-y, and it had some awesome marscapone filling. I think I liked it more than the chocolate brandy. If you’ve eaten at the Last Resort, Casa Mia’s cakes are made by the same lady who makes the cakes there.

This is a long post, but it’s worth it. Go to Casa Mia, and then come back and brag.

Note: I took more pictures last night, but the didn’t turn out. They don’t do the restaurant justice. If you have some, please post them!

Responses

  1. This was my second experience with a Tappas restaurant, and I was not disappointed. Tapas are fun because you get to try many different flavors. The food and service were great, I would definitely go back…

  2. i had so much fun eating dinner here with you and your dad! my family and i really enjoyed the variety of food you can get with ordering so many tapas. the prices were so reasonable and the atmosphere was classy and made me feel like i was in italy!

  3. AWESOME IS RIGHT! I love this place… anytime someone comes in to town we take them to Mia Casa! The tapas are great- really fresh! I highly suggest the shrimp, but stay away from the mussels- you can get them better someplace else.

  4. […] I went to Casa Mia with some friends in the office.  I hadn’t been to Casa Mia since my last post from the fall, so I was excited to go back- especially for […]

  5. […] to Casa Mia without having it, and it totally made my day. I’ve described Yucca in some of my earlier posts, but it’s like a thick, healthier, better French fry. They also bring it with some kind of […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

