Posted by: KStrate | November 5, 2007

Oh, Happy Turkey Day!


Tonight for dinner, I decided to try my chances at Earth Fare, the organic food store at Five Points.

I have eaten dinner from their salad/hot bar before, but I was so excited to find a great surprise tonight!

Apparently, every Friday, Saturday and Sunday during November, they’re making a Thanksgiving feast. Talk about comfort food.

Tonight I had a great grilled breast of free range chicken, baked butternut squash, collard greens and turnips, a little scoop of a long grain wild rice, cranberry and walnut medley (holy crap, YUM!) and a little salad to top it off.

In addition to my menu, they also had kale and an apple crisp thing. Every day they have a soup and salad bar with different selections. Today’s soups were Veggie Fajita Chili and Chicken Noodle soup.

For those of you who are freaked out by organic food or health food, this is worth setting aside your fear. Your plate is weighed, and the cost is $6.99 per pound. I know it’s a little pricey, but the health benefits far outweigh what you’re paying.

They also have a coffee, tea and smoothie bar, and they have already prepared dishes you can pick up. I’ve heard their macaroni and cheese is to die for.

I know you typically don’t think about Earth Fare when you’re finding a place to eat, but go check out the cafe. You can read a magazine or chat while you’re there.

After you eat, browse around the store. It’s so cool! All the employees are very knowledgeable, and they are willing to help you in any way they can.

So, before you go home for the holidays, stop by Earth Fare on a Friday, Saturday or Sunday for some of Mamma’s lovin’.

Responses

  1. I wish I would have discovered Earth Fare before I graduated. It’s very comparable to Whole Foods in Atlanta, who also has a hot bar and a chill-with-magazines area. The hot bar is a great place to stop and pick up a plate of healthy food after a hard workout at Ramsey, or a long run down Milledge.

  2. I’ve eaten at Earth Fare too. Its great, and the food is really fresh. I think I could spend hours in the little corner where all the snacky mixes are. They also have ground lamb. I haven’t tried it but it looks pretty cool. Might have to do that one night for din-din.

  3. Talk about comfort food and Thanksgiving! I know it isn’t nearly as healthy but Cracker Barrel is the Mother of all comfort food. They have Turkey and Dressing every Thursday night and for Thanksgiving they are going to have the full spread of Thanksgiving dinner for everyone that comes in. You can even order Thanksgiving for your entire family and pick it up Thanksgiving day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

