Posted by: KStrate | November 12, 2007

Mambo Italiano!

From my snazzy little survey in the right column, I’ve observed a majority of you say your favorite kind of food is Italian.
So, in order to cater to you, readers, I’ve decided to compile a list of Italian restaurants in Athens. I haven’t been to all of them this year, but I’ll tell you what I know.
  1. The Basil Press: downtown on the corner of Lumpkin and Washington- It’s a small little joint, but the food is fantastic. I’ve been there on a couple of occasions last year for dinner and Sunday brunch (heck yes to the eggs benedict). If you’re looking for a small Italian place where you’ll get a lot of one-on-one attention, go here.
  2. DePalma’s: downtown on Broad Street- This is consistently a crowd favorite. They are open for lunch and dinner, and it’s not a cheap Italian place where they drown everything in garlic and salt. They have famous pizza, but my favorite dish is the Insalata Cecilia.
  3. Bischero– on Prince Avenue on the right if you’re going downtown; they have wonderful pizza and pasta. It’s a dimly lit, romantic place, and they have a little patio with twinkle lights on the side. Every time I’ve been there, either for brunch, lunch or dinner, the food has been fantastic. The people who work there are really nice, too. Good prices. Good food.
  4. La Dolce Vita- If you’re one of my avid fans, you would know that La Dolce Vita was my restaurant of the week last week. I’ve been there to eat, and I can tell you it’s amazing. Antonio, the owner, is straight from Italy, and he has a passion for his restaurant. It’s on the 2nd floor right above Hedges on Broad Street. If you come there with a party or a date, I promise he and his staff will do everything to make you feel at home. I’ve tried the vegetarian lasagna, the beef lasagna, the salmon bowtie pasta and the fettuccine. All were wonderful, but I think I liked the salmon the best!
  5. If you want pizza, here’s a list of the places I know:

Amici, Transmetropolitan, Little Italy, Sons of Italy, Gumby’s, Snelling dining hall, Buck’s Pizza, Mama Sid’s Pizza and Stevi B’s Pizza

So, whether it’s for pizza or a nice meal, Athens is ready to cater to your craving for Italy. Go somewhere. Come back. Tell us what you think.

Responses

  1. bischero’s is good, but the pasta is def. a better choice than the pizza. also– parking can be difficult sometimes, but probably not as bad as downtown!

  2. I’ve heard Bischero makes there own pasta. Is that true?

  3. transmet has the best veggie pizza! you should try it out.

  4. depalma’s is my favorite restaurant in athens. hands down! i have been there too many times to count and there’s nothing i don’t like on their menu!

  5. Hey, this needs an update! Keeping busy with internships/PR clubs, etc? Going to 5 Star Day Cafe for lunch. Was checking out your site for suggestions. See you in the Fall.


Leave a Reply

Categories

