Posted by: KStrate | November 19, 2007

Athens’ Best Kept Secret


I’m going to tell you something really exciting.

At the end of Milledge Avenue, almost to Prince Avenue, lies a little house on the right side of the road. “What’s so special about a little house?,” you ask. Let me tell you.

Have you ever heard of a restaurant that makes something different every single day? Not just the daily specials, but the entire menu is different.

If you have, you’re a rare one. Even if you’ve heard of a restaurant like that, do you know about a restaurant whose fixed menu is a different ethnicity? That is, every day the food is from a different country.

That’s what I thought.

Dondero’s Kitchen is that kind of place. Ana Dondero and her husband own Dondero’s kitchen on the end of North Milledge. There is a little space for dining, but most people come and buy the food for take-out.

Dondero’s also caters. We hired them to cater for 12 people for my formal. The day before our formal, their menu was Thanksgiving dinner! So, I asked them to order extra, and they made it for us on Friday. For $6.75 per person, we had turkey, dressing, mashed potatoes, the best green bean casserole EVER, homemade rolls and apple pie. For only $6.75 per person.

It was the best meal I had eaten in a long time.

I got so excited for our Thanksgiving meal on Friday that I went to eat lunch at Dondero’s on Thursday. I grabbed a roast beef sandwich out of the refrigerator, a bag of pita chips and a tub of their homemade hummus.

The sandwich was awesome. It was made on homemade white bread, the kind with the chewy crust, and it had herbal cream cheese on each slice.

Let’s skip to the hummus. I went to Paris this summer, and we ate homemade, legitimate hummus every day. Since I’ve been back in the U.S., I haven’t had good hummus. Their hummus was definitely Parisian quality. Needless to say, between me and my roommate, the 9 oz. tub was gone by the next day. 🙂

If you’re looking for a cheap but organic and free-range catering option, go to Dondero’s kitchen. If you want a yummy lunch, take a drive to the house.
If you want to browse around an international food market, pull up in the parking lot.
If you want 5% off of your meal, walk or ride your bike to Dondero’s kitchen.

I can’t tell you how awesome everything was. Imagine your Mom’s famous apple pie, and then imagine something 10 times better.

Do Dondero’s.

Responses

  1. My friends and I tried to go to this restaurant last year, but it was closed. Looks like we’re going to have to try again!

    Also, I linked to you to do the “7 Random Facts” thing on your blog. You can switch it around to fit your blog or whatever, your choice!

  2. Katherine:
    This blog is great. Keep it up!

  3. It looks great sister! keep up the good work not too much longer! love and miss you!!-claire


Leave a Reply

Categories

