Posted by: KStrate | November 28, 2007

East Side Represent.


It is a rare occasion when I venture over to the East side of Athens. However, I met a girl in my PR research group over there last night to work on our paper.

Our study place of choice was Cups. I’ve never been in there before, and I’m pretty sure I’m hooked.

When I walked in, I realized how huge it is! The front room is wide, airy and ventilated. I don’t really like coming out of a coffee shop reeking of the beanZ, but I went home smelling like I had 2 hours before- like a spring flower, of course. 🙂

My partner said she would meet me in the back room. That’s right. They have a back room. I don’t know why that’s important, but it was nice to get away from the coffee machines. It was filled with couches, old tables you’d find at garage sales and little lamps dispersed throughout. It was well lit, so we didn’t fall asleep.

I went to get some tea, and I paid $1.98 for my cup. I got the orange ginger flavor. It doesn’t smell good, so I was a little hesitant about drinking it. Once it finally cooled down, I really enjoyed it (with two Splenda, of course)!

I also noticed the wonderful cake display case by the cash register. Yes, they have cake and not just any cake- Cecilia’s cakes (aka the Last Resort lady!).

There were students, families and couples sitting inside. They also have outside seating.

If you’re looking for a change of pace (and want some cake), come to Cups. It’s located in the shopping center where Loco’s is on the East side- across from Kroger-ish.

The moral of the story is this: the East side of town can truly rock it. It’s so nice to go over there and kind of tell yourself not a lot of people know about this place. It’s a little self-satisfying, but I don’t care. Now you know, so go!

Responses

  1. Wow! You really made me want to try it out as it does seem like a nice change of venue from Starbucks and a great place to study! Cups should pay you for advertising for them!! 🙂

  2. i once accidentally found myself in Cups while passing out Redhotz posters last year, and i thought it was the coolest place! i haven’t really been back, though, because i also hardly ever venture to the east side, but i could see how it would be a great place to study and get away from the slc and jittery joes crowds during finals. nice find!


Leave a Reply

Categories

