Posted by: KStrate | December 5, 2007

My first podcast at BISCHERO!

I can’t tell you how excited I am about this post. Yes, I bought a digital voice recorder, so I could bring real interviews to you! True devotion.

I went to eat dinner at Bischero with my group of ladies in the women’s choir at Athens First Methodist. There were about 10 of us, and we were received with open arms.

The noticable characteristic about Bischero is the outside. Located in the Bottleworks on Prince Avenue, their patio lit with twinkle lights catches the eye of every passer-by. Since it was decorated for Christmas, I especially noticed the multi-colored tree in the window.

After you go inside, everything gets even better. The hostess was extremely friendly, and I even got to meet the owner, Jack Harwood and his wife, Rachel. My group was seated immediately, and our water glasses were filled promptly.

Because I was so excited I bought a voice recorder, I asked Jack if I could interview their pizza maker, Griffin. Here’s what our conversation sounded like!

About half way through my interview, Jack showed me the entire kitchen. I saw their pasta maker, the chefs and the freezer. It’s really big. There were carts of their freshly made pasta being refrigerated, but Jack assured me the pasta is only stored for three days maximum. I was standing with my back to the door, and, all of the sudden, Tia, the lady who makes the pasta, popped out of the refrigerator! It scared me a little, but we just laughed.

To the food:

I ordered the special of the day: Turbot fish with an olive and tomato ragu, asparagus and parmesan creme risotto. Yes, it was as good as it sounds. I had never had Turbot before, but it tasted like a basic white fish. Very tasty!

Others at my table ordered pizza. The Valdostana, Salsiccia e Peperoni, and plain old ham were the ones I remembered. If they didn’t finish their meal, to-go boxes were definitely used.

Let me tell you this. Bischero is locally owned, and Jack and Rachel care about the food they make. They want to make sure each customer has an enjoyable experience, and they want people to come back. From what I can tell, every employee likes working there. They seemed to laugh and get along well.

High quality food doesn’t come cheap. College kids probably couldn’t afford to come here twice a week, but the trip is worth the money. They also have an extensive wine menu, and the staff seems knowledgeable about the choices.

Whether for a quiet dinner for two or a night out with the girls, this continues to be a hot spot. I know a lot of my readers have been here, so add your input!

P.S. I hope you liked my podcast. Isn’t it cool? 🙂

Responses

  1. This website is a good source for good eats in Athens. Thanks for coming by Bischero;) I met you the night you were interviewing the Chefs. I am one of the new cooks at Bischero and from my experience I can say its very professional as far as staff, executive Chef Alex instructs his cooks well, he actually spends time with new cooks unlike other fine dining restaurants i have worked for in Athens. The Chefs are good here, and most if all the owners are super nice and seem very on point w/ the business. -Chef JB


Leave a Reply

Categories

