Posted by: KStrate | December 8, 2007

DePalma’s is it.

Did you know DePalma‘s has a location on the East side of town?

I have ordered take-out from there numerous times, but I think I’ve only eaten in the restaurant once. Since I live on the East side-ish, it’s pretty convenient to drive over there.

In case you don’t know where it is, here’s some info:

Location: 1965 Barnett Shoals Road, in the same shopping center as the Locos and Cupz!
Phone Number: 706-369-0085
Web site: www.depalmasitaliancafe.com
Reservations: Yes. If you want to go during a busy time, you might want to call ahead.
Price: Very well priced. Count on spending $10+ per person.
Best meal to eat there: dinner
Open and close:
Sunday – Thursday: 11 a.m. – 10 p.m., Friday and Saturday: 11 a.m. – 11p.m.
Group-friendly: Definitely.

Last night, my roommate from freshman year, Erin, and me decided to have our Christmas. It consisted of take-out from Depalma’s and watching the Polar Express on ABC Family. I suggested DePalma’s because I was in the mood for their wonderful ensalata Cecilia. I get it every time I go there.

I called in our order of stuffed mushrooms, ensalata Cecilia and the apple walnut salad around 6 p.m., and we picked it up around 6:30. It was somewhat crowded inside, but not too bad. My salad was $10; Erin’s was $7, and we split the stuffed mushrooms that were $5.

One thing I love about DePalma’s is the amount of food you get for your money. For only $5, we feasted on at least 10 little mushrooms. Half of them were filled with yummy pesto, and the other half were filled with a little meatball and mozzarella.

The reason I love the ensalata Cecilia so much is because of the scallops. They’re about one inch in diameter, but they’re tender and tasty. The shrimp are good, too! At the downtown location, they usually put the shrimp on a skewer- unpeeled. I like how the East side does all of that for you before they put it on the salad. It’s annoying to peel a shrimp in your salad. It comes with a tasty citrus vinigarette- the perfect complement for seafood.

Erin’s salad looked yummy, too. The lettuce in our salads was green, fresh and crunchy. It seemed like the applewood smoked bacon in hers was cooked well- not too greasy. The apples were also very fresh and crispy. I think they used Granny Smith ones.

If you want a semi-cheap but good meal, this is the place to go. The mushrooms were amazing, but my ensalata Cecilia was the best part. I can’t wait until I come back from Christmas to eat one!

Responses

  1. This was one of my favorite places when I was in school. You could get a slice, salad and a soda or a grilled chicken sandwich, chips and a soda for $5. I miss Dipalmas.


Leave a Reply

Categories

