Posted by: KStrate | January 19, 2008

I love France.


What exactly is French food?

From living there for six weeks, I can tell you it consists of a lot of things: meat (mostly lamb, chicken, beef and pork), hearty vegetables like potatoes, green beans (haricot vert) and cheese.

Le Maison Bleu, pronounced luh meh-sohn bluh, serves French cuisine from the heart of Watkinsville. I’ve been wanting to eat there for a long time, and I finally got my chance last night.

Here’s what you need to know first:
Location: 2 South Main St. in Watkinsville; click here for specific directions.
Phone Number: 706-769-6480
Web site: www.maison-bleu.com
Reservations: They take them. When we arrived at 6:30 on a Friday night, it wasn’t all the way full. If you have a big party, I would do it just incase.
Price: Expect to pay almost $20 for a good dinner. This wouldn’t be somewhere you would go every day on a college budget.
Best meal: Right now, my only experience is dinner, so I’d say go for that.
Open and close: Monday-Saturday, 11 a.m.-close; Sunday brunch, 11:30 a.m.-2:30 p.m.
Group friendly: Yes. There’s a huge room in the back upstairs that I saw on the way to the bathroom. It can easily fit 20 people.

We were greeted by a cheery and helpful hostess who let us look at the menu before she seated us. My friends and I were trying to decide between the three restaurants in the new Watkinsville shopping center (Mirko’s, Gautreau’s Cajun Cafe and this one), but I think we made the right choice.

The restaurant is two levels. We were seated up top. The owners did a great job of decorating the joint. Chandeliers (I’m going to say at least 20) hung from all over the ceiling, and huge French posters adorned the center wall behind the bar. What an ambiance!

Our server, Amy, was pleasant and knew what was going on. She told us the specials for the day, and then came back a little later to get our order.

I decided to go with two smaller items because I couldn’t decide which one I wanted. I ordered the lamb lollipops, two small (what I think were) ribs with a fun sauce that tasted a little like pimento cheese and half of the Maison Bleu salad. Fresh greens with pears, grapes, walnuts and bleu cheese were lightly tossed in a yummy citrus vinigarette- a nice compliment to the meat, too.

Julia, my dear friend, ordered the salmon with potato gnocchi. I think it was pretty good because she ate most of it. Julia loves salmon, so I trust her judgement.

Leah decided to order the stuffed chicken. Oh man. If you like the bird, I think this is definitely what you should get. I didn’t have any, but it came on top of some awesome smelling mashed potatoes. The menu said the chicken was stuffed with apples, walnuts and gruyere cheese, a French original.

Even though we didn’t order any dessert, they all looked wonderful. Chocolate, tartes, fruit and much more covered their dessert menu. I may have to go back just for that.

To see more pictures, click here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

