Posted by: KStrate | January 30, 2008

La Dolce Vita is my H.E.R.O.


When I said my prayers on Monday night, I thanked the Lord for Italy.

On Monday, I went to lunch at La Dolce Vita with some special guests from my Terry ILAD class. Dr. Gauthreaux, Dr. Lankau, my friend Eric Tonn, Ryan Gembala (the co-founder of H.E.R.O. for Children) and myself soon discovered we were in for a wonderful lunch treat.

After being greeted enthusiastically by the restaurant’s owner, Anthony Spaldea, we were seated at a table near a window. Our British waiter brought our drinks, and then proceeded to tell us about the menu.

Four of us ordered the green salad with our meal, and Eric ordered the Caesar. The balsamic vinigarette on the salads was superb. You could definitely tell it was homemade.

The pasta of the day was the Farfalle. Little bowtie pasta were tossed in a light tomato sauce with pieces of dried ham throughout the dish. It sounded so good when he described it, Dr. G., Dr. Lankau and Ryan all decided to order that.

Eric ordered the lobster ravioli which looked fantastic. The ravioli squares were almost two inches on each side, and they were generously stuffed. I think I even saw a couple of boiled shrimp on his plate, too- an extra perk.

I was feeling adventurous, so I decided to order the Smoked Salmon Carpaccio (car-PAH-chee-oh). Boy, was I in for a treat!

A note about La Dolce Vita: in addition to the wonderful food, the presentation of the “eats” is impeccable. Every time a plate is placed in front of you, you can tell the meal was prepared with extra TLC, and everything on the plate is where it’s supposed to be.

I truly experienced this with my salmon. I have usually eaten the raw salmon, sliced very thin, with cream cheese and crackers. To my wonderful surprise, the salmon was placed in the middle of the plate, and it was surrounded by a beautiful frame of kiwi, strawberries and bananas.

I was furious because I forgot my camera. If I could figure out how to upload a document from my scanner to the Internet, I would draw a picture of it. I think I counted eight pieces of kiwi, five slices of banana (placed on top of the kiwi) and one strawberry sliced in half.

The taste of the smoked salmon paired with the light, citrus-y flavor from the fruit made it the perfect lunch meal. Thank you ILAD donors for paying for such a wonderful treat!

So, I am TERRIBLY sorry for the lack of photographic evidence. Trust me, though. This place is a MUST.

You’re going to pay more for your meal than you would at McDonald’s but I think you’ll be willing to make the sacrifice.

Did you know that Anthony and his wife moved to Athens from Italy because they liked the town? Athens really has some appeal.

Let’s keep their restaurant hoppin’, and show them how much their good food is appreciated.

Responses

  1. Hmmm…my last name is Tonn. No worries, great post otherwise!

  2. Yum!

  3. I am in love with La Dolce Vita! The bruschetta is to die for! The best I have ever had!


Leave a Reply

Categories

