Posted by: KStrate | February 23, 2008

A Mid-Week Fiesta


Cali N’ Tito’s is a great place to celebrate the mid-week point.

On Wednesday, I ate dinner there with the PRSSA officers, my friend Tolu and Scott Williamson, Group Director of the Public Affairs and Communication office at Coca-Cola North America.

The weather was perfect. There were a few clouds, but the temperature was very pleasant. We parked ourselves outside on one of the picnic tables.

If you don’t know about Cali N’ Tito’s, here’s your basic information:
Location: On Lumpkin Street, right by the UGA track
Phone number: (706) 227-9979
Web site: Don’t have one.
Reservations: Nah.

Price: Very reasonable. I think my veggie quesadilla was $6.50.
Best meal: Either lunch or dinner. I guess it depends on when you like to eat Latino food.
Open and Close: I’m not sure. I would think 11 a.m. to midnight on weekends, but I know they don’t serve breakfast.
Group friendly: Definitely. The whole place is spacious, and I’m sure they wouldn’t mind if you put some tables together to fit a lot of people.

Although Cali N’ Tito’s seems like a Mexican restaurant, it actually offers an assortment of Latino and South American foods. I ordered a veggie quesadilla, but other people ordered the Cuban sandwich, tilapia, tacos and empanadas.

Each time I’ve been there, the food has been fresh and tasty. They brought a basket of chips out to my friend Ginny, and the salsa definitely tasted like it had been made that day. It had tomatoes, avocado and cilantro. I thought it was so refreshing and light!

My last post asked what kind of improvements I should make in my post. One of the comments said I never say if anything was bad or not. Maybe this next paragraph will take care of that. 🙂

My veggie quesadilla was nowhere near BAD, but I thought it lacked a certain “zing” that I like when I eat a quesadilla. It had pinto beans, cheese, mushrooms, peppers and onions, but I didn’t find it spicy at all. I don’t know if that is how a traditional quesadilla is made or not. I may just be super American and think that all Latino food is spicy. Does anyone know if this is how it’s traditionally made?

Tolu ordered the tilapia, and it looked heavenly. She also agreed with me that her fish wasn’t as
spicy as it usually is, so maybe it was just the attitude of the kitchen that day. Her tilapia looked wonderful. It was accompanied by some fried yucca (a potato-like vegetable) and a little green salad with cucumbers.

I think the chicken tacos were a hit. Scott and Kelly both ordered that, and I didn’t really hear any complaints. I thought the tortillas were really neat. They were corn tortillas, but they were soft and small- about five inches in diameter. I tried a little piece of Kelly’s tortilla, and it had a lot of taste!

One of the most unique features of Cali N’ Tito’s is it’s BYOB. Although we didn’t bring a cooler of beer before our PRSSA meeting, I’ve driven by many times and have seen tables with coolers. I think that option adds to the fun atmosphere.

The inside and outside of Cali N’ Tito’s is fun and eclectic. There’s an empty boat (once a fountain, but it’s empty thanks to the drought), fun chairs and random artifacts hanging from the ceiling.

Cali N’ Tito’s is a great place to go with friends. I’d say this is a restaurant where you can sit for hours and not even realize it. It has quite a loyal following, so let me know what you’ve ordered if you’ve been there!

We came. We celebrated Wednesday. We ate. We left with our stomachs full- all thanks to Cali N’ Tito’s!

Responses

  1. Cali n’ Titos is great! good observation on the spicy factor. most traditional latin food does have some spice to it from peppers but you could almost call calin’titos tex mex, it’s sort of americanized. Not that it’s not authentic, but they cater to the less spicy crowd.

    One thing i’d mention is that they’re cash only!

  2. Good call on the spicy factor. Traditional latin food does have more zing to it but Calin’titos is almost a tex mex spinoff (think of the crowd they cater to). Not that it’s not authentic, they just leave out that zing.
    Good post, very descriptive. What the salsa lacks in spice it makes up for in flavor.

    Don’t forget, CASH ONLY!

  3. Great pictures…especially the ode to Diet Coke 🙂

  4. I just love your blog Katherine. I especially love the slideshow you embeded in this one, nice touch!

  5. As far as an explanation for the not-spicy factor, the owners are Peruvian and Colombian, and a lot of the menu items are actually South American (El Gran Combo, yucca frita, the Tilapia, Lomo Saltado, the Ceviche) as opposed to Mexican. If you want to add some zing, ask for their habanero salsa…a little dab’ll do ya.


Leave a Reply

Categories

