Posted by: KStrate | March 2, 2008

Catching up at The Grit

The Grit, a local vegetarian hot spot, has been one of my favorite Athens restaurants since I came to school.

I think the word “vegetarian” scares a lot of people away, but I think the negative connotation will go away once you try their mac and cheese.

Here’s what you need to know before you go:
Location: On Prince Avenue, right after downtown on the left
Digits: (706) 543-6592
Web site: www.thegrit.com
Reservations: No
Price: You couldn’t go there every day on a college budget, but I think it’s reasonable. Plan on anywhere from $8-15 per meal
Best meal: I think dinner is the best. The menu is the same, but it’s more fun at night.
Open and close: Monday-Friday, 11 a.m.-10 p.m., Saturday and Sunday, 10 a.m.-3 p.m. brunch and 5 p.m.-10 p.m. dinner
Group friendly: Kind of. They won’t be very nice to accommodate you, but I would go when they aren’t busy.
NOTE: THEY DO NOT SEPARATE CHECKS. I don’t know why, but just know that before you go.

I was really excited to re-visit The Grit. It had been a long time since my last visit. I met my friend, Jaime, for dinner, and we enjoyed our candlelit dinner thoroughly.

I decided to go with Kelly’s suggestion from my other post, and I ordered the Tabouli salad. It was definitely one of the biggest green salads I’ve ever eaten, but it was light and tasty.

The bulgur mixed with cilantro and some other fresh-tasting herbs was placed right on top of a huge bed of lettuce. It came with lemon tahini dressing on the side, and it was the perfect complement. I ate the whole thing guiltlessly.

Jaime ordered the noodle bowl of the day. If I can remember, I think it had tofu, squash, red onion, zucchini, peppers, noodles and some very spicy seasonings. If I’ve forgotten something in the bowl, maybe she can post what I left out.

I think Jaime was satisfied on her end, too! The noodle bowl was very spicy, so the waiter had to keep coming back to refill our drinks. Nonetheless, she ate everything.

In previous trips to The Grit, I’ve ordered pita pizza, grilled cheese smelt, veggie plate and a noodle bowl. ALL were original (honey mustard with the grilled cheese), fresh, well-portioned and filling. I would suggest trying something there you’ve never eaten before. Their vegetables of the day are wonderful, and each one has a zing to it that might make you lick your plate.

I have also been to The Grit for brunch. Please eat as many biscuits as they’ll give you. No disappointment there.

In addition to the main meal, they have a FANTASTIC looking dessert case. Vegan cakes are also made, but the light and bright colors from the cakes can be mesmerizing. You need to try one.

One last thing: I’ve come to a point where I think vegetarian restaurants are not known for their customer service. The staff wasn’t overly friendly, but I’m at a place in my life where I accept it. Different people have different ways of communicating, and my expectations are different than others.

No worries, though. The last time I checked, I wasn’t going to a restaurant to chit-chat with the waiter. It’s all about the friends and the food, and The Grit is a great place to go to make that combo even better.

P.S. Sorry there aren’t any pictures. They wouldn’t let me take any.

Responses

  1. I’m a big fan of the Loaded Nachos. I’ve always loved the cheese & just found out it’s vegan. (I should have guessed that…) It melts differently than regular cheese & I could go on and on about how great it is. With that great cheese, homemade salsa and chili, you can’t go wrong!

  2. Get the hummus plate next time! It’s delish and the pita bread that comes with it is perfectly soft and warm.


Leave a Reply

Categories

