Posted by: KStrate | March 4, 2008

East West Bistro loves EDB-ers

On Saturday night, I had the pleasure of going to a reception at East West Bistro.

The staff from Edelman and all the peeps from the Edelman Digital Bootcamp came to debrief and talk some more about the day. We were upstairs in a fun reception room that overlooked Broad Street. I hadn’t been to East West in a long time, but I enjoyed being back in the atmosphere.

Since it was a Saturday night, the regular dining areas were extremely crowded. The bar is to the right directly when you come in, and it was packed as well! I think the East West bar is known for its specialty martinis, including the Pink Lady (My Mom loves this one.).

Before I go into more detail, here’s some information:
Location: On Broad Street, almost on the corner of Jackson.
Phone number: 706-546-9378
Web site: www.eastwestbistro.com
Reservations: Yes
Price: This is one of the more upscale restaurants in town, so plan on spending a load.
Best meal: I’d go for dinner. The atmosphere is really cool, and they definitely don’t mind if you stay for a while.
Open and close: For a detailed description, click here.
Group friendly: Obviously. We had a huge party, and they were very accommodating in their upstairs room.

To the reception: I love the lighting in East West. The warm, cozy hues that were reflected off the maroon painted walls and the hardwood floors made our little room welcoming and fun.

Since it was a large party, the food was an assortment of choices. There were chicken fingers, bruschetta with artichoke and chevre (goat cheese), fruit, hummus and pita chips, and a green salad. There was also a cash bar.

One of my favorites was the pita chips and hummus. It also came with some sort of creamy dip, but I liked the hummus better. You could definitely tell the pita chips were homemade.

This may seem elementary, but I LOVED the honey mustard they had with the chicken fingers. Sometimes honey mustard quality is hit-and-miss, but they hit the bullseye with this one.

The food wasn’t that extensive, but I know a lot of you have been there and ordered something off of the real menu. Tell us what you got and how it was!

So thanks again, East West and Edelman, for a great reception. There were some serious conversations going on, and I know the restaurant ambiance helped facilitate that.

Responses

  1. East-West makes the best calamari in Athens, hands down. Any dish they feature with ostrich is also amazing!

  2. I wish I could have made it to the gathering. EastWest sounds great . . . maybe when I come up for Connect 08 I can spend more time exploring what Athens has to offer.

  3. the ostrich appetizer is fantastic!

  4. No surprise here to anyone who knows me — I *always* get the burger with fries. Sweet potato fries. Mmmm.

    And I love East West for lunch. Better chance of getting one of those hhuuuggeeee booths for a party of 2 🙂

    Kristin is right, the calamari is awesomeness.


Leave a Reply

Categories

