Posted by: KStrate | March 28, 2008

Eat Some Cow at Porterhouse

Porterhouse Grill makes me want to boycott Chick-Fil-A.

Of course, I’m kidding, but if you’re looking for some high quality red meat in Athens, this is the place to go.

Here’s the basic information before I detail the wonderful dinner I had with my family:
Location: On East Broad Street, almost to the edge of downtown.
Phone Number: (706) 369-0990
Web site: They don’t have an official one, but there are many other reviews.
Reservations: Yes.

Price: This is one of the most expensive restaurants in Athens, so plan on spending a good $30 for a decent meal. It is worth it!
Best Meal: Definitely dinner. It is dimly lit inside, and the atmosphere is swanky and sophisticated. Make it a date!
Group-friendly: Definitely. I’ve been there with a large group of students before, and they have
been very accommodating

When I discovered my family was coming to town for Easter weekend, I immediately knew I wanted to take them to dinner at Porterhouse Grill. Earlier on Saturday, I went through a ropes course, and I was ready to eat some red meat!

Our reservations were at 6:30 p.m., and we were immediately seated. My family could automatically tell the “who’s who” of Athens come to Porterhouse. While we were there, we saw the women’s golf teams from FSU, LSU and South Carolina. We also had a bit of a celebrity appearance when UGA Athletic Director Damon Evans came in. Oh yeah.

To the food: we started off with some crab cakes, broccoli and cheddar soup, seared Tuna and a bleu cheese wedge. Mom had the crab cakes, and, in my opinion, she is a crab cake connoisseur. As she was eating them, she commented on how meaty and non-bready they were. They also had a good sauce that added some extra flavor.

For our entrees, I ordered the Bleu Cheese Filet; Dad got the NY Strip; Mom got the regular filet, and my sister got the cheese tortellini with shrimp and scallops.

Let me just begin by saying my filet was amazing. It was a 10 ounce piece of meat, cooked medium, with a bleu cheese and butter sauce on top. I usually don’t like bleu cheese, but I decided to go out on a limb with this one. I wasn’t disappointed. I scraped most of the sauce off the top, but the flavors that remained were just enough to satisfy.

Dad said his NY Strip was one of the best he has ever had. All of our meat was cooked exactly how we liked it, and it had a fantastic taste.

Claire’s pasta was good, but it was extremely rich. She likes shrimp more than scallops, and was disappointed only to find three shrimp in the midst of eight scallops. Yes, she counted.

For dessert, we decided to pass around the creme brulee, the apple cobbler with ice cream and the key lime pie. Oh man. I don’t think I need to say anything about the desserts, but I will say that they key lime pie is made in-house with Porterhouse’s famous recipe.

The wine menu was very extensive, and my Dad really enjoyed looking at the menu. The Strate family graduated from Wine School this summer while we were on vacation in France, so a lot of our dinner conversation was spent talking about the different wines and tastes. Our waitress was so excited because Dad asked for a decanter for his pick. You should ask for one the next time you order a bottle because it makes a definite difference in the taste!

If you want some good red meat, good service and good wine, head on over to Porterhouse. It is a famous hot-spot, and I was so glad my family got to experience dinner with me.

Responses

  1. niiicce! I’ve only been there for brunch – which was okay but not tops. Good to know I should go back later in the day! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

