Posted by: KStrate | April 5, 2008

Picante’s is Still Good!

I hadn’t been back to Picante’s Mexican Grill since September, but it is definitely still great!

It stands apart from the other local Mexican restaurants because of the freshness of the food. When I went there last night with my girlfriends, all of us were impressed!

To start, we decided to order a pitcher of their homemade peach margaritas. I usually don’t write about alcohol in my posts, but I thought this was too good to skip.

I’ve never had a homemade margarita before, but you can definitely tell a difference. We ordered ours frozen and with sugar on the rim instead of salt. The peach taste was subtle but perfect! They weren’t too sugary, either. That’s my main issue with margaritas, and this proved me wrong.

As for price, they’re really cheap! For Jose Cuervo tequilla, the pitcher is $14. A total steal.

Now, on to the food.

I decided to go with the spinach and mushroom quesadilla. Oh man, I’ve never had FRESH spinach on a quesadilla, and it makes all the difference. I could feel the layers of spinach leaves as I bit into my tortilla. It was only $4.50, too! Cheap food that’s amazing.

Other girls at the table ordered taco salads, too. I ordered that the last time I was at Picante’s, and, like me, they were so excited when they found the black beans at the bottom! I thought that was really funny.

The only disclaimer I have about the restaurant is this: if you want to go to a Mexican restaurant where you’re served, this isn’t it. You order from the counter, and then you have to go pick up your food at the window. When it got busy in there, the employees tried to help distribute the food, but it was a little confusing. You don’t have a ticket number or anything, so it’s hard to match the food with the person.

Overall, I hope I’ve converted my friends to Picante’s. It’s so cheap and so good. It is open seven days a week, and it’s right downtown on Broad Street. I really don’t think you can go wrong.

Responses

  1. Thanks for the tip on the spinach and mushroom quesadilla. The fish tacos were good Friday night.

  2. […] a record of thoughts – think, implement, compile, execute wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt I hadn’t been back to Picante’s Mexican Grill since September, but it is definitely still great! It stands apart from the other local Mexican restaurants because of the freshness of the food. When I went there last night with my girlfriends, all of us were impressed! To start, we decided to order a pitcher of their homemade peach margaritas. I usually don’t write about alcohol in my posts, but I thought this was too good to skip. I’ve never had a homemade margarita before, but you can defin […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

