Posted by: KStrate | April 11, 2008

Five Points Deli- A Chicken Salad Critique

I might get shot for saying this, but here it goes.

I’ve decided I don’t like the chicken salad from Five Points Deli.

There you go.  I said it.  Now, let me explain my rationale.

I tried their regular chicken salad once, and it was too blande for me.  I just thought it tasted like chicken and mayonnaise, so I tried the supreme chicken salad the next time.  I thought it was alright but nothing extraordinary.

Yesterday, I was craving some chicken salad, so I dropped in their Five Points location to grab some lunch.  I remembered not liking the regular chicken salad, so I again got the supreme.

When I got home, I was so excited to dig in.  Unfortunately, I was severely disappointed.  Even though they try to make it supreme with the pecans and red peppers added in, it still didn’t flip my switch.  I’m not sure why.  I think it was so mayonnaisey that I just couldn’t eat a lot of it.

Now, this is just MY opinion.  There are many other things I love at Five Points Deli!  Their seafood salad is absolutely amazing, and all their baked goods (especially the ooey gooey brownies) are delicious.

If you like their chicken salad, let us know why!  Everyone’s tastebuds are different.  What other places in Athens have good chicken salad?  Marti’s at Midday?  Cookies Cafe?  Can you think of any more?

Responses

  1. Note! I bought some rotisserie chicken salad from Earth Fare on Friday, and it was FABULOUS. I absolutely loved it. Dark and white meat, grapes, little mayonnaise- perfect. Try it! ($8.99 per pound, I think)

  2. I can’t comment on the chicken salad, but would love to know where to find some great vegan carrot cake if anyone knows of a source.

  3. Thanks for asking, Caroline! I’ll definitely do some research. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

