Posted by: KStrate | April 16, 2008

To the Bluebird Cafe Once More

After pancakes on Saturday, Dad and I decided to go for brunch after church to the Bluebird Cafe.

I’ve posted about it before, and I think my favorite part is still their biscuits. I’ve never had anything like them! Huge, whole wheat, thick…you can’t get much better.

I wanted quiche on Sunday morning, but the chefs were in the process of making them when we came. I don’t know why they didn’t make them before 10 o’clock on Sunday morning, but it wasn’t my decision.

So, I settled for a Greek egg white omelette. It was pretty good! I knew it had Feta cheese, but I wasn’t expecting it to have Feta and Monterrey Jack. It was a little too cheesy for me, so I picked some of it out. Otherwise, the black olives, tomatoes and pesto made a nice combo!

Dad decided to go with the veggie omelette (sans onions and garlic), and he ate all of his. He decided it needed a little ketchup, and I don’t blame him. I love ketchup with eggs.

Here’s one thing I don’t understand, though. The Bluebird Cafe is vegan and vegetarian friendly, yet they use Smucker’s jam and apple butter that contain high fructose corn syrup. One of my favorite parts of the Bluebird Cafe was their apple butter, but now that experience is bittersweet. I know that vegans and vegetarians don’t boycott high fructose corn syrup, but it seems to me that they would know how bad it is for you. I just thought that was interesting.

Again, the service was a little spotty, but I think it was better than the last time. They just don’t have their wits about them when it’s gameday.

I saw my friend, Victoria, there with her mom, and she told me today she wasn’t very impressed with her meal. “Well, I only got granola and fruit, but it still wasn’t that good. My mom and my friend got the French toast pancakes, and they loved them. I guess I’ll just have to get something different next time.”

This goes to show, ladies and gentlemen, that you can go back to a restaurant another time and order something different. If you think the restaurant has potential, try it again! It seems to be that way with me with Bluebird.

Responses

  1. I have been to bluebird twice and while I enjoyed the food the service was miserable and cleanliness was of major concern.
    Of note, I was looking at the health inspection ratings recently and bluebird falls dead last by a mile in all of Clarke County.

    http://www.publichealthathens.com/healthscores/clarke_county_restaurant_scores.html

  2. Hey!
    I just wanted to say as a fellow Athens resident and food blogger, I’ve been reading your blog for a while and it’s definitely inspired me to try new restaurants in Athens.
    Also, about the use of Smuckers Jam with the high fructose corn syrup count, my guess is that even though it isn’t the healthiest option, they probably have to cut costs somewhere, and they’d probably rather use organic fruits and veggies, which are obviously expensive, and pay less for things like jams, condiments, etc. That’s just a guess though.

  3. Hasn’t the Bluebird closed now? It use to be an Athens landmark with wonderful vegetable plates and biscuits. In the last few years, the place really went downhill. The food was touch and go and the service horrible. The last time I was in there I noted a health dept. rating lower than any I’d ever seen EVER and decided enough is enough. Too bad.

  4. Yep, it closed awhile ago… apparently the rent is pretty high for how small the space is so they’re having a hard time getting a new business in there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

