Posted by: KStrate | May 11, 2008

Casa Mia in the Spring

I want to first write a little disclaimer apologizing for the lack in posts lately.  I’ve eaten at four restaurants this week, and I haven’t been diligent about getting them up on time.  I’m hoping these next few will make up for it, though!

On Monday, my first day on the job at Jackson Spalding, I went to Casa Mia with some friends in the office.  I hadn’t been to Casa Mia since my last post from the fall, so I was excited to go back- especially for lunch!

I always forget what amazing lunch deals Athens restaurants have.  All of us ordered from the set lunch menu: a choice of an appetizer, an entree and a dessert for $7.95.  It was a total steal.

I decided to go with the black bean soup, a veggie Cuban sandwich and chocolate cake to top it off.

The soup was served in a modern looking square bowl, and it was the perfect temperature.  I’d say the serving was about one cup, and they added a little grated cheese and some tortilla strips to top it off.  I’m picky about bean soups, but I really liked how they pureed the black beans to make it smoother and less stew-y.

The Cuban “sammich” was amazing.  I opted for the veggie, but others at the table went with either the steak or the chicken.  The veggies were nicely grilled and placed on some awesome Cuban bread with mayo, mustard and cheese.  I think it was Monterrey jack.  It was the perfect size, too.  I still had room for my chocolate cake!

OK, I’m picky about chocolate desserts.  With chocolate cake, it needs to be spongy and light for me to be able to finish it.  I can’t help but think of Bruce Bogtrotter from Matilda every time I eat chocolate cake, but the cake I had on Monday definitely wasn’t made by the Trunchbull.  The cake was light, and it had a thin layer of chocolate icing in the middle.  It almost seemed like it had been soaked in chocolate syrup, but I think it was because the cake was so light.  Everyone (except Elizabeth, who opted for the French press coffee) ordered chocolate cake at the table, and I don’t remember seeing any left on their plates.

In addition to my menu choices, people also ordered the Mediterranean salad and butterflied shrimp for an appetizer.  The menu had three or four appetizer and entree choices and three dessert choices.

Moral of the story: if you want a cheap, three-course lunch, go to Casa Mia.  It was so nice not to feel stuffed when I left.  I think we all enjoyed the walk back to the office, though.

There weren’t that many people in the restaurant when we arrived a little after noon.  The service was relatively efficient, but the conversation I enjoyed made up for waiting for my glass of tea.

Responses

  1. For the over-21 crowd… the sangria is pretty great, too.

  2. I went out on a limb with the melon & prosciutto app, but it paid off. And the butterfly shrimp were a very “dry fry” – nice and crispy instead of greasy.

    One of the things I love about the Casa Mia lunch is the portions. Even with the three courses, I was full but not miserable. It’s been one of my favorite finds this year.


Leave a Reply

Categories

