Posted by: KStrate | May 12, 2008

Your Pie: Um, go there TODAY.

There are many pizza places in town, but I am amazed at the genius behind the concept of Your Pie. In an increasingly competitive Athens food market, these guys found a niche that I think will take them to infinity and beyond.

Please let me tell you how amazing my little lunch was at Your Pie this past Thursday.

In case you haven’t heard of Athens’ new addition, Your Pie is a brand new Athens original franchise located in the Beechwood shopping center- over by the UPS Store and Larry’s Giant Subs.

Phone Number: 706-349-3179

Web site: www.whatsyourpie.com

Price: Plan on around $6 or $7 for a pizza and a Coke.

Best Meal: Whenever you like to eat pizza or a panini.

Open and close: Sunday, 11 a.m.-10 p.m.; Monday-Thursday, 10 a.m.-10 p.m.; Friday and Saturday 10 a.m.-2 a.m.

Group friendly: I’d say to a limit. There isn’t a huge space to eat inside, but you could take up a couple of booths.

The characteristic that sets Your Pie apart from other pizza places is all their pizzas are personal sized. That means you get your own- however you want it!

People have asked me about the size of the pizza, and I’d say they are mostly oval shaped about a foot long and eight inches wide- enough to eat for lunch and dinner!

It has white and wheat crusts, six different types of sauces and cheese, and countless toppings. They even have gelato and a wide assortment of wine and beer.

Here’s the link to the online menu if you want to take a look.

Let’s talk about my pie. I decided to go with

  • whole wheat crust
  • sun dried tomato basil sauce
  • low-fat mozzarella cheese
  • green peppers, sweet onions, spinach, baby portabella mushrooms, vidalia onions, roma tomatoes, cilantro and oregano

Yes, it’s a bit of a veggie pizza, but it was absolutely fabulous. I was standing in line, and one of the pizza maker women said, “What kinda crust you want, hun?” It caught me off guard, but I recovered quickly and told her wheat. She proceeded to toss it up in the air and then send it on its way down the assembly line!

Every single pizza is baked in the baller brick oven. There’s a designated employee that only moves the pizzas around. It’s an important job! If you want a panini, they just put all the toppings on one side of the crust and then fold it over when it’s done cooking. Easy as pie! 🙂

Erin decided to build a pie with white crust, pepperoni, many of the same veggies I got and regular pizza sauce. She went up there and said, “I want what’s on the Italian,” but she didn’t know the Italian was a panini. So, the pizza man just put everything that’s on an Italian panini on her pizza. Easy switch.

Since it was our first time there, we decided to go all out and get gelato. I must admit. It’s not the same as buying gelato from a street vendor in Paris, but it was alright. I got mango sorbet and coconut gelato, and Erin got the pistachio gelato. Just save some money and go for the pizza.

The inside of the restaurant is really cool. It’s airy with a lot of stone and cold surfaces, but it’s cozy, too. Erin and I sat at the little bar, and we could look right into the brick oven. Very cool.

Everyone was in there. From business people to college kids to old people, I mean, who doesn’t like pizza? If you’re feeling like a light lunch, they also have salads. But come on. If you’re going to go to Your Pie, get a pie.

Overall, I’d give this restaurant an A. It was a little short-staffed, but the staff’s bubbly and helpful personalities made up for it. Please go and experience the goodness that is Your Pie- an Athens original!

Responses

  1. I ate at Your Pie after reading this review. Pizza was pretty good. For a local restaurant, I was impressed at their branding efforts. Definitely looks like they want to franchise and expand. However, the service could have been better — a lot of employees, but most didn’t seem to know what they were doing or what was supposed to be on the pizzas, resulting in a slow line.

  2. I agree with Jarek. My pizza was really good. I definitely recommend the fresh mozzarella (yum!). But ordering took FOREVER. I think it will be better once the staff gets more comfortable with the menu and the assembly line approach. But I would still go back!

  3. Yes, I TOTALLY agree. They were out of silverware, lids and napkins at the station near the drinks, and it took the guy 10 minutes to remember I asked him for silverware. I think they just need to be open a little while longer, though. Thanks for your stellar reviews!

  4. I also agree with Jarek that they’re a little lost, slow and confused about what’s going on. But that’s to be expected.
    When I wrote restaurant reviews for a daily newspaper in North Carolina, our policy was to wait six months after a new restaurant opened before writing a review to give the place time to “work out the kinks” and settle in.
    But I really do enjoy the YourPie concept. I like all the “free” toppings included in the $5 price and I like all the variety. I’ll definitely go again. Also, I love your blog! Keep up the good work!

  5. Thanks for the great advice, Geoffrey. I’ll have to keep it in mind the next time a new restaurant opens. Thank you for your encouragement!

  6. Wait, stop the press. You mean to say that you can go there and order a pizza and you get to choose what you want on your pizza? Wow. Yup. That’s a genius concept, alright.

    I’m sure their food is acceptable enough but this gushing review over yet another start-up in Beechwood is kind of over the top.

  7. I’m new to finding this blog, so I’m getting caught up.

    “If you say so,” I hope you’ve been there by now and realized what a treat YourPie is. Otherwise, well, you know what you can do.

  8. I’ve tried Your Pie several times and have been delighted every time. One of my complaints about chain pizza parlors is the number of questions the waiter asks before they make it their way. Now I have a place where I can tell them what I want and get it that way. I’m no longer a teen (66 last birthday), I like beer with my pizza, and I especially like a pesto pizza – YourPie is my kinda place.

  9. My wife and I ate at Your Pie today for lunch.

    I was very pleased and I really like the concept and the way they’ve implemented it. I like that they took they put ingredients on your pizza as you talk to them much like a sandwich or burrito place.

    They’ve been open a year now so I think they’ve worked through all the customer service kinks that others reported shortly after opening.


Leave a Reply

Categories

