Posted by: KStrate | July 18, 2008

Quite the Movie Weekend…

This weekend, is the summer weekend for movies.  The Dark Knight, Mamma Mia!, and Space Chimps are all coming out.  Like many people, you might want to go out to eat before or after the flick.  So, dear readers, I’ve decided to make some restaurant suggestions depending on the movie you’re going to see.

The Dark Knight

I talked to my friend, Lindsey, who saw it last night at midnight, and she said it was “dark and creepy.”  I expected it to be that way, so that’s why I’m suggesting Chuck E. Cheese as your restaurant of choice.  The Athens location is on 78, right before the mall in the same shopping center as Bed, Bath and Beyond and Old Navy.

Either you’ll get a “happy high” before you go or a pick-me-up after the movie.  I have to admit; I haven’t reviewed Chuck E. Cheese on Dawg Food, but I’m going to go on a limb and say you’d be safe with the pizza and a Coke.  I mean, who wants to even think about food when you’re listening to the sweet seranades of robot animals going, “Cel-e-bray-shun…COME ON!”

Mamma Mia!

I want to see this movie SO BADLY!  The songs have been in my head and playing on my iPod for the past month.  Since the movie is set on a Greek Island, I thought a good seafood and/or pasta place would help you get pumped up!  My top choice for seafood would be Harry Bisset’s.  Although its roots are cajun, the fish is yummy and fresh.

My choice for pasta would be Mirko Pasta.  I have a horrible confession.  I actually ate there one night and never blogged about it.  Shun me if you must, but I will say now that it was exceptionally yummy.  It’s quick, too, so you could make it in time for the 7:30 showing.

Space Chimps

If you’re going to see Space Chimps, Casa Mia is my recommendation.  Yes, it seems strange.  Let’s see if you can figure out my reasoning.

Question: What is a monkey’s favorite food? (This isn’t a trick question.)

Answer: Bananas!

Question #2: What does your waiter bring at Casa Mia when he comes to introduce himself?

Answer: Plantain chips!

In case you didn’t know, plantains and bananas are very similar.  They are not the same, but they’re in the same family.  To read about their real differences, go here.

So, you can go to Casa Mia and eat like a monkey before you go see a movie about monkeys.  YES.

I hope this post helps you pick your choice for pre or post-movie dining this weekend.  If you have any other suggestions, holler!

Responses

  1. I was coerced into seeing Mamma Mia (the play), which ended up being great… as for the movie version, sounds fun, though it’s awkward to think of ol’ Pierce trying to sing, yeeesh

  2. Kat…i miss you. I love the idea of picking restaurants to go with certain movies. On that note…for a day of shopping I recommend going to East West. They have excellent salad choices for reasonable prices. Looking in mirrors at clothes isn’t half as intimidating with a salad in the stomach. Also, an after a shopping quick cocktail place is a good martini at the Winery or a crisp beer at Trapeze. I can’t wait to see you again!


Leave a Reply

Categories

