Posted by: KStrate | August 28, 2008

In the end, it’s all about the chicken salad.

In case you can’t tell, I’m on a constant search to find the world’s best chicken salad.

Of course, it is totally a matter of opinion, but that’s about the best I can do.  It’s your job to comment on my posts and tell me what you think!

With all that, I drove through Chick-Fil-A last night to grab a quick bite before going to the first PRSSA meeting of the year. A college student’s mind works in mysterious ways.  I got a coupon in the mail last week for a free CFA chicken salad sandwich (with purchase of a Diet Dr. Pepper), and I had been thinking about the right moment to use it.  Wednesdays are always cRaZy, so I decided the coupon would fit nicely in my agenda.

I was really hesitant about eating Chick-Fil-A’s chicken salad for a couple of reasons.  First, most chicken salads are so incredibly fatty and “mayonaisey” that you might as well throw it in the trash and eat a can of Duke’s.  Second, some are really, really salty.  I like salty foods, but I have a limit.  With fast food, of course most items are full of sodium, but some of them don’t hide it very well.

When I drove up to the drive-in at the Beechwood CFA, I could only hope for the best.  I ordered the sandwich, substituted a water for the DDP, and got a side garden salad with fat free honey mustard.  Grand total?  $2.13.  A dream come true (Although, I was “that girl” who had to pay $2.13 with my debit card because I didn’t have cash.  Oh well.).

Once safely inside Sanford 213 for our meeting, I was able to eat my supper.  To my surprise, it was absolutely fabulous!  The chicken was diced in small pieces, and I could see bits of hardboiled egg and celery in there- yummy AND protein-rich!  I also found solace in knowing the entire sandwich is only 7 points on Weight Watchers.  Most chicken salads are so much higher than that.

I have to say, if I had had a pepper shaker with me last night, I would have used it.  I like peppery chicken salad, and I think it could have used a little.

Overall grade for fast food chicken salad? A-

You should try it.  The wheat bread was also yummy, and my side salad was the perfect complement to the sandwich.

More posts to come, so stay tuned!

Responses

  1. I’m always tempted to get the CFA chicken salad ever since I had some really good chicken salad at Marti’s…but I’ve never given in. I think I just might next time!

  2. Ask Glen Jackson about his love for the CFA Chicken Salad!

  3. Thank you for the kind words about our new and improved Chicken Salad sandwich. It was a part of our spring roll-out and has seen great success. Hope you are well! Love the blog!

  4. If you are ready to find the best chicken salad go to Winterville (only 8 miles from the Arch) and check out Cafe Marigold. They are open Tues-Sat. for b’fast and lunch. Check out the website she just got up and running. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

    http://www.cafemarigold.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

