Posted by: KStrate | November 11, 2008

Harry Bissett’s on a Friday Night

This past Friday, I ventured to Harry Bissett’s with about 26 of my closest friends.

Yes, it was a large crowd, but I think our experience at Bissett’s was one of the best I’ve had.

Our reservations were for 8 p.m., but we didn’t get seated until around 8:30.  It didn’t really matter because all 8 million of us hung out in the front by the bar and chatted until it was time to follow the hostess into the dining area.

We had two tables: one that sat about 20 people and the other that sat around 12.  OK, so I guess there were around 30 of us, but that’s a minor detail.

All of us were dressed up for a formal that night, and we wanted to eat at fun, easy-going Harry Bissett’s before boogie-ing the night away at The Classic Center to the band Super T.

My date, Tommy, and I sat at the smaller table which actually worked out really well.  I liked being able to talk to everyone at the table without having to scream or pass a note.  Our waitress, Jennifer, was AWESOME.  She was in for a good time, and she treated us just like adults.  Sometimes I get annoyed when waiters and waitresses treat me like I’m a 13-year-old on an ice cream date, but I can understand the horror stories from bad clients.

Either way, Jennifer was awesome.  She came and got our drink orders and came back a little later to get our food order.  I had the blackened fresh catch, mahi-mahi, with green beans and collards.  Tommy ordered the trout with a side salad and…shoot…I can’t remember what his other side was.

I’m a nosy person, so I saw some other plates on our table: shrimp scampi, fried oysters, another pasta, the surf and turf, creole egg rolls, and cedar plank salmon.  Needless to say, it all looked REALLY good.

I also ordered a bottle of chardonnay to go with our fish, and it was very good.  We all had one of those “just over 21” discussions about wine and how we really don’t know what we’re doing most of the time when we order.  I think it would be cool to go to some sort of wine tasting/school here with some friends so we can all learn together.

I guess we got out of there around 10:15 or so.  Our meal didn’t take too long to come out, and everything I had was good.  Warning!  The collards are spicy, so watch out!

Responses

  1. Hey, I was wondering if you were there (you told me you had a formal and there were a million decked out students there). Susan and I were there with folks from our Sunday School class. I had a great fillet and a wonderful crab cake appetizer.

  2. That’s crazy that I didn’t see you. Glad we both had good meals! 🙂

  3. Gosford Wine over by the hot Kroger on Alps has $5 wine tastings every Wednesday evening from 6-8. I went last week and Taylor, the main guy behind the counter, explained all 5 bottles to us in (relative) layman’s terms. He also helped me figure out a career path since I’m looking at getting into the wine industry. That’d be a good first start!

  4. I went to a wine tasting a few weeks ago at Speakeasy – it was sponsored by the 5 Points Bottle Shop and this is apparently something they have started doing at various restaurants around town (the next one was going to be at Casa Mia). It was $15 which included 15 different tastes of wine and appetizers! It was fun and the people really knew their wine, I would definitely recommend checking out their website to see when the upcoming events are.


Leave a Reply

Categories

