Posted by: KStrate | January 17, 2009

Dinner and a Movie: Mirko Pasta and Cine

It’s been a while since my last post, but I promise this one will make up for everything. 🙂

Last night, I went with my dear friend, Anna Sexton, for a night of merryment. We started at Mirko Pasta (the Athens east side location) for dinner, and it totally made my day.img_0744

I always get nervous going into Mirko because I’m afraid I won’t get a table. They are always packed, but I am continually comforted by the quick table turnaround. Problem solved.

As Anna and I were waiting in line, we decided what we wanted to order. I also spyed on everyone else eating. It’s kind of fun to watch other people converse. Come on, you know you do it, too.

I decided to order the tagliolini pasta and the Caprino e Pinoli sauce. The tagliolini is a skinny fettucini noodle that either comes in the regular or spinach version. I opted for spinach with the thought it would go better with my goat cheese, tomato, and roasted pine nut sauce. Are you drooling yet?

Anna ordered the whole wheat penne pasta with the Sorrentina sauce (diced tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, olive oil, basil, and garlic), and we both used the bread they brought us to sop up the sauce that was left on our plates.img_0745

Believe it or not, my dinner was only $9.34. I think that’s pretty good for an awesome meal. My pasta was amazing. The noodles were tender; the sauce wasn’t too strong (because I think goat cheese can be overpowering sometimes); it was hot (temperature wise), and it came out quick.

I think Anna enjoyed hers, too. Our plates were clean, and our tummies were stuffed.

Gratzi!

After dinner, we headed downtown to Cine to catch the 9:30 showing of “I’ve loved you so long.” We saved some room in our bellies for the famous pumpkin chocolate chip cookies they have at the bar. If you’ve never been to Cine, you need to go. Not only is it fun, cultural, and cheap, it’s also chill, different, and very reflective of the Athens community. “I’ve loved you so long” is a French movie (with English subtitles, of course) that is playing at Cine until January 22. Here’s the synopsis if you’d like to go. I definitely recommend it!

The pumpkin chocolate chip cookies were, as usual, amazing. If you’d like to have some of your own, you can order them from Dondero’s Kitchen.

So, go to Mirko’s if you haven’t been, and go to Cine if you haven’t been. I promise you won’t be disappointed!

Responses

  1. Katherine,
    You should post more often. I really like your reviews. I do wish you would talk more about the food, though. There are so many good places in Athens that it shouldn’t be hard.
    Chuck.

  2. I’ve been included in the blog. Fist pump! Just wanted to add that Anna definitely enjoyed her pasta, but the highlight of the evening was most certainly the Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookie from Dondero’s.

  3. Thanks for mentioning Cine!


Leave a Reply

Categories

